Traffic Offenses Defended

IN WEST VIRGINIA

Protect Your Rights with B. Craig Manford, Attorney at Law

The freedom to drive is so very important to residents of the Martinsburg, West Virginia region. Our ability to drive has a direct impact on many parts of our lives every day. So, any restriction or penalties imposed by traffic offenses must be handled with assurance. Like many states, the DMV uses a point system to track traffic offenses, and your license may be suspended after accumulating 12 points. Some violations attach fewer points to your driving record, while others can charge twice as many points. Protect your right to drive and help clear your driving record with the legal services offered by B. Craig Manford, Attorney at Law. Contact us online today to arrange a free consultation or call our office at (304) 263-5698.

Traffic Offenses with Fewer Points to Your Driving Record

The following is a list of traffic-related violations that could bring fewer points on your record:

Failing to use turn signals: 2 points.

Failing to obey a stop sign: 3 points.

Failing to obey a traffic light: 3 points.

Littering: 3 points.

Following too closely behind another vehicle: 2 points.

Driving on the wrong side of the road on one-way street: 3 points.

3rd offense for using your cell phone (calling or texting) while driving: 3 points.

Speeding 11 to 14 MPH over the speed limit: 3 points.

Traffic Violations with Higher Point Values Against Your Record

These violations can result in a larger number of points being placed against your driving record:

Failing to use turn signals: 2 points.

Driving 20 MPH or more over the limit: 6 points.

Leaving the scene of an accident: 6 points.

Reckless or careless driving: 6 points.

Fleeing from law enforcement: 8 points.

How Long Might a Traffic Offense Suspend Your License?

Accumulated points over and above the minimum of 12 can lead to a lengthy suspension of between one to three months, or more. Here is how long you can expect, based on the number of points:

12 to 13 points: 30 days.

16 to 17 points: 60 days.

14 to 15 points: 45 days.

18 to 19 points: 90 days

If you have 20 points or more on your WV driving record, your license will be suspended until you can reduce the total to 11 points or fewer.

Traffic Offenses in West Virginia Bring Penalties & Inconvenience

Traffic offenses that carry higher points may also bring you into traffic court to plead your case. DUI conviction automatically suspends your license until you take the steps to reinstate it. See our page on driver’s license revocations for more information. Even after you pay fines, the points remain and can accumulate. Reviewing your traffic offense with B. Craig Manford, Attorney at Law, can help you get a better understanding of how the point system works, how the points affect your license, and the best steps to take when a license suspension occurs. Call today!

Close Menu